DT300_klang_und_ton_mod

Modification of the tweeter Monacor DT-300, according to Klang & Ton 6 / 14

A customer request, whether in the sound and sound 06 / 14 (kit MonaLisa, developer Ronald Waßen) presented modification of the tweeter DT-300 synonymous in the Cinetor meaningful, I took the opportunity to perform this.

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod

In the modification, the ferrofluid is removed, introduced into the Polkernbohrung insulation wool and glued a felt ring on the pole plate. A detailed guide can be found in the Sound and sound forum.

The metrological results

All measurements were made with Waveguide, in 20cm narrow baffle.

frequency response

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod_ampSignificantly extended frequency response towards lower frequencies. Minimal higher efficiency, otherwise practically congruent course.

impedance response

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod_impSignificant influence of the modification on the impedance response. Clean and balanced impedance peak at 800Hz (blue). Compared to before (black), with clearly flattened course and 3 impedance bumps (Some DT-300 show only a double bump). In order to achieve a really clean and symmetrical impedance peak after the removal of the ferrofluid, the pole core bore has to be stuffed quite firmly with insulating wool. Effectively, the pole core bore was acoustically sealed by a 14x3cm long strip (blue). In comparison, (red) stuffed a little less, with a strip of 7x3cm. The "new" impedance path allows much deeper separations, so the distortion measurements should not oppose ...

Harmonic distortions

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod_dist... and you do not do it. No increased harmonic distortions. K2 between 800Hz and 2kHz even slightly lower. Separations to 1,5kHz, possibly even deeper should now be feasible!

Burst decay

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod_bdSlightly improved decay behavior around 7, - and 13kHz.

Meaningfulness of the modification of existing systems

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod_weicheThe example shows a separation by 2kHz with 18dB / Oct. Dashed without, solid with modification. The frequency response in the work area shows small deviations, however, the slope changes to the midrange, which can have a negative effect on the overall system. At this point it is therefore not possible to give a blanket "blessing" regarding the modification of existing systems.

Conclusion:

The modified DT-300 is the better DT-300. Significantly more beautiful impedance, more separable, more even decay, and minimally balanced in super high tone. Negative effects could not be determined. It raises the question of the meaningfulness of Polkernbohrung and back chamber at the dome.

Finally:

The modification should not be done without control measurements. A simple impedance measurement, which can be realized with the free version of LIMP (part of the ARTA Family) and a material usage of 1-2 €, is completely sufficient.

Reasons:

It should be ensured that the voice coil is still well centered after the modification. There are a few factors that influence it.

  • She was not there before
  • The tightening torque of the screws
  • Possible game in the forced centering
  • The positive centering allows two mounting positions, which can lead to different results

Ferrofluid can compensate for small errors in the centering of the voice coil. It could happen that one, just before the modification just enough central voice coil, grinds or hangs after the mod at the air gap.

One thought on "Modification of the tweeter Monacor DT-300, after sound & sound 6 / 14"

  1. Such "tweeter tweaks" are especially popular in the USA. Here's an example where even a sauteurer ScanSpeak tweeter has been successfully modified:
    http://www.speakerdesign.net/scan_speak/tweeters/6600/6600_tweeter.html

    That makes you think. That is saved in mass production products on the final touches, is still to be understood, but also in the high-end? Since the customer should not mess up, and thus risk the Hochtõner and the guarantee to turn off avoidable nickelities.
    : - /

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Blue Captcha Image
refresh

*

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod

Modifikation des Hochtöners Monacor DT-300, nach Klang & Ton 6/14

Eine Kundenanfrage, ob die in der Klang und Ton 06/14 (Bausatz MonaLisa, Entwickler Ronald Waßen) vorgestellte Modifikation des Hochtöners DT-300 auch in der Cinetor sinnhaft sei, habe ich mir zum Anlass genommen Diese durchzuführen.DT300_klang_und_ton_modBei der Modifikation wird das Ferrofluid entfernt, in die Polkernbohrung Dämmwolle eingebracht und ein Filzring auf die Polplatte geklebt.Eine ausführliche Anleitung findet Ihr im Klang und Ton Forum.

Die messtechnischen Resultate

Alle Messungen erfolgten mit Waveguide, in 20cm schmaler Schallwand.


Frequenzgang

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod_amp Deutlich erweiterter Frequenzgang hin zu tieferen Frequenzen. Leichte Abschwächung der Störungen bei 7,- und 13kHz.

Impedanzgang

 DT300_klang_und_ton_mod_imp Erheblicher Einfluss der Modifikation auf den Impedanzgang. Saubere und symmetrische Impedanzspitze bei 800Hz (blau). Im Vergleich zu vorher (schwarz), mit deutlich abgeflachtem Verlauf und 3 Impedanzhöckern (Manche DT-300 zeigen auch nur einen Doppelhöcker).Um, nach der Entfernung des Ferrofluids, eine wirklich saubere und symmetrische Impedanzspitze zu erreichen muss die Polkernbohrung recht fest mit Dämmwolle gestopft werden. Effektiv wurde die Polkernbohrung durch einen 14x3cm langen Streifen akustisch verschlossen (blau). Im Vergleich dazu (rot) etwas weniger gestopft, mit einem Streifen 7x3cm.Der „neue“ Impedanzgang erlaubt erheblich tiefere Trennungen, so die Verzerrungsmessungen dem nicht entgegenstehen sollten…

Harmonische Verzerrungen

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod_dist …und Sie tun es nicht.Keine erhöhten harmonischen Verzerrungen. K2 zwischen 800Hz und 2kHz sogar etwas geringer. Trennungen um 1,5kHz, ggf. sogar noch tiefer sollten nun machbar sein!

Ausschwingverhalten

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod_bd
Bildwechsel alle 3 Sekunden
Leicht verbessertes Ausschwingverhalten um 7,- und 13kHz.

Sinnhaftigkeit der Modifikation bestehender Systeme

DT300_klang_und_ton_mod_weiche

 

Das Beispiel zeigt eine Trennung um 2kHz mit 18dB/Okt. Gestrichelt ohne, durchgezogen mit Modifikation.Der Frequenzgang im Arbeitsbereich zeigt geringe Abweichungen, allerdings ändert sich die Flankensteilheit hin zum Tiefmitteltöner, was sich negativ auf das Gesamtsystem auswirken kann.Es kann an dieser Stelle daher keine pauschale „Absegnung“ bzgl. der Modifikation bestehender Systeme gegeben werden.

Fazit:

Der modifizierte DT-300 ist der bessere DT-300. Erheblich schönerer Impedanzgang, tiefer trennbar, gleichmäßigeres Ausschwingverhalten, und etwas ausgewogener im Superhochton. Negative Effekte konnten nicht festgestellt werden. Es stellt sich die Frage nach der Sinnhaftigkeit von Polkernbohrung und Rückkammer bei der Kalotte.

Abschließend:

Die Modifikation sollte nicht ohne Kontrollmessungen durchgeführt werden. Eine einfache Impedanzmessung, welche mit der kostenlosen Version von LIMP (Teil der ARTA Famillie) und einem Materialeinsatz von 1-2€ realisierbar ist, ist vollkommen ausreichend.

Begründung:

Es sollte gewährleistet sein, daß die Schwingspule nach der Modifikation noch gut zentriert ist. Es gibt einige Faktoren, die darauf Einfluss nehmen.

  • Sie war es bereits vorher nicht
  • Das Anzugsmoment der Schrauben
  • Eventuelles Spiel in der Zwangszentrierung
  • Die Zwangszentrierung erlaubt zwei Einbaupositionen, die zu unterschiedlichen Ergebnissen führen können

Ferrofluid kann kleine Fehler bei der Zentrierung der Schwingspule kompensieren. Es könnte passieren, daß eine, vor der Modifikation gerade noch ausreichend zentrale Schwingspule, nach dem Mod am Luftspalt schleift bzw. hängt.

 

Ein Gedanke zu „Modifikation des Hochtöners Monacor DT-300, nach Klang & Ton 6/14“

  1. Solche „Tweeter Tweaks“ sind besonders in den USA populär. Hier mal ein Beispiel, wo selbst ein sauteurer ScanSpeak Hochtöner noch erfolgreich modifiziert wurde:
    http://www.speakerdesign.net/scan_speak/tweeters/6600/6600_tweeter.html

    Das gibt einem doch zu denken. Daß bei Großserienprodukten am letzten Feinschliff gespart wird, ist ja noch nachzuvollziehen, aber auch beim Highend? Da sollte der Kunde nicht noch rumbasteln, und damit den Hochtõner und die Garantie riskieren müssen, um vermeidbare Nickeligkeiten abzustellen.
    :-/

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind markiert *

Blue Captcha Image
Refresh

*