Monacor Direct HA Edition with SPH-176, MSH-116 and DT-25 omnidirectional Sonogram

Development Report Monacor Direct HA Edition Part 2 Metrological documentation for the development of the center speaker Monacor Direct HA Edition ...

Development Report for Center Monacor Direct HA Edition

Monacor Direct HA Edition Sonogram

Measurements of the original Direct in Part 1 of the development report of the Monacor Direct HA Edition


So now dire (c) (k) t into the action.

In general, at the beginning of each speaker development are the creation of a concept, driver selection, housing vote, Edgefimmelei, etc. All this could (or had to) save me. The concept was predetermined. So first the drivers in the case were measured, to see how you want to be ultimately sonicated.


In the following the measurements:

Amplitude frequency response Monacor DT-25N 0 °, 30 °, 60 °, 90 °

Monacor_DT25N_Winkel_0°_30°_60°_90°

 Monacor DT-25N harmonic distortion

Monacor DT25N Harmonic Distortions

The DT-25N “sees” the symmetrically neighboring TMTs, which is evident from the break-in (2kHz) and rearing (3kHz) below 30 °. Rounding off the familiar case hardly brought any improvement. With what problem no. 1 was specified. The distortion values ​​are completely within the framework. The gray line stands for 1% distortion (also in the following diagrams). From 2,5Khz, K2 remains below this, apart from the small peak at 10kHz. I consider this to be completely harmless. In practice it means that a 10kHz tone is accompanied by a 39 dB quieter 20kHz tone. In addition, I did not measure this "peak" on all DT-25N. K3 can be completely neglected from 2kHz. Higher order distortion components as well.


Amplitude frequency response Monacor MSH-116 / 4 0 °, 30 °, 60 °, 90 °

Monacor MSH116 Angle Measurements 0 °, 30 °, 60 °, 90 °

Harmonic Distortions Monacor MSH-116 / 4

Monacor MSH116 Harmonic Distortions

The MSH-116 also obviously sees its neighbors, but does not react quite as violently as the DT-25N. It is unfavorable that both the DT-25N and the MSH-116/4 behave very similarly around 2-4Khz at angles. Thus, one cannot compensate for the “wrongdoing” of the other. The harmonic distortions look good. The K2 increasing towards low frequencies recommends a separation> = 300Hz.


Amplitude frequency response Monacor SPH-176 0 °, 30 °, 60 °, 90 ° (2 driver in parallel)

Monacor_SPH176_Winkel_0°_30°_60°_90°

Harmonic distortion Monacor SPH-176 (2 driver in parallel)

Monacor MSH116 Harmonic Distortions

Not much needs to be said about this. A deep separation is required to counteract the break-ins due to the horizontally symmetrical arrangement. The positive effect of the arrangement is a directional effect of the woofers right into the area in which you actually work as an omnidirectional speaker. Judging by the distortion values, a separation of <= 400 Hz should be aimed for. The need for this is given by the amplitude frequency response at angles anyway.


These were the guidelines. From there a clean round radiating speaker to develop the task.

The greatest difficulty was to achieve a healthy mean of linear frequency response on axis and at the same time below 15 ° -45 °. The fluctuations of the DT-25N and the MSH-116 between 1kHz and 4kHz are to be regarded as given. You can't magic them away ... The game with crossover frequencies and slope steepness began. I simulated, set up, measured pretty much every separation between 2kHz and 4,5kHz with slopes of 6dB / oct to 24dB / oct and then also listened to many of them. Some longer, some only a few bars. I often thought it was good now, and the next day I wanted to know again.

The final vote took place under 15 °. This roughly corresponds to the listening position of two people on a couch in 2,5m distance to the center speaker, which is probably a very common constellation.


Measurements of the center Monacor Direct HA Edition

Sum drivers & reverse null 15 °

Monacor Direct HA Edition Frequency response sum branches and reverse polarity
Sum drivers & reverse null 15 °

 

The crossover frequencies are 360 ​​and 3050Hz. The level drops evenly by around 20dB from the fundamental to 2kHz. The average efficiency at 2,83V is 89,5dB. The "boom" of the MSH-116 by 10kHz is harmless, as it is 30dB below the characteristic sound pressure. The flanks are symmetrical, the addition clean.

When the midrange is reversed, 15dB is extinguished when TT / MT and 18dB MT / HT are disconnected.


Amplitude frequency response on axis and impedance response

Monacor Direct HA Edition with SPH-176, MSH-116 and DT-25 amplitude response impedance response
Frequency response & impedance response

 

The harmless collapse at 1,2kHz could not be gotten away. I had quite a few variants without break-in, consequence was always a very restless frequency response under 15-45 °. The on-axis linearity is very good with + -2dB. The slight presence dip already disappears under 15 °, as well as the ripple at 1,2 and 1,8kHz. The increase in altitude from 8kHz compensates for the bundling of the tweeter. If desired, this can be linearized very easily by connecting a Cs to the tweeter in parallel. In general, the speaker can be adapted to your needs due to the many variants tested and a very precise simulation model. The impedance minimum is 3,7Ohm at 120Hz and is not a problem for any modern amplifier.


Group delay

Monacor Direct HA Edition with SPH-176, MSH-116 and DT-25 group delay
Group delay

 

Which group run times are audible or not provides for discussions in various forums. 2,9ms @ 80Hz is less than 1 / 4 wavelength (that would be about 3,13ms, according to Adam Riese). The delay is imperceptible and an excellent value.


Phase

Monacor Direct HA Edition with SPH-176, MSH-116 and DT-25 phase
Phase

 

Constantly falling. No problem.


Burst decay

Monacor Direct HA Edition with SPH-176, MSH-116 and DT-25 decay behavior
Decay behavior Burst-Decay

 

Very fast and steady decay over all frequencies. Perfectly.


Horizontal dispersion (0-90 ° in 15 ° steps)

Monacor_Direct_HA_Winkel
Angle measurements 0-90 °

 

It is easy to see why the "break-in" was on the move at 1,2kHz set a link from your homepage to Fewo-von-Privat.de. At 30 ° and 45 ° this is "filled up". Nevertheless, even below 30 °, a uniform course with a slight drop towards the heights and a linearity of 200-10000Hz of + -2dB.

Isobar diagram of horizontal omnidirectional behavior

Monacor Direct HA Edition with SPH-176, MSH-116 and DT-25 omnidirectional Sonogram
directivity horizontal sonogram

 

And it became a meditating alien ... who would have thought that. The diagram contains the same information as the one about it, the amplitude frequency responses under angles. In this case, however, in 5 ° steps and from 0-180 °. Please note the scaling.


Harmonic distortion on 85, 90 and 95dB

Monacor Direct HA Edition Distortions
Gray line: 1%
Graph switches every 3 seconds

 

Up to 3dB, K95 always remains> 50dB below the characteristic sound pressure => 0,3% are not exceeded. That is an extremely good value! The good-natured K2 is also completely harmless: 0,1% - 0,9% at 95dB. Very well!


At the end...

That was a very intense piece of work and I am extremely satisfied with the result. I hear the speaker, although it is only mono with me, very much like.

The Monacor Direct HA Edition loudspeaker meets all requirements for a very good center in home cinema installations.

There is not much more to say right now. In the future, I reserve the right to supplement / improve here and there. About comments and criticism on your part, I would be happy.


4 thoughts too "Development Report Monacor Direct HA Edition Part 2 Metrological documentation for the development of the center speaker Monacor Direct HA Edition ..."

  1. What lasts long will be good! I'm looking forward to the acoustic result 🙂
    The picture at the top looks like a statue that looks at me * ggg *

  2. I hardly recognize the capchas (color).
    This is the second attempt now, the first text was WEGGGGG. – – –
    Sorry, that was my search for part 1. That there was a LINK hidden in the title....
    down here I would have expected that (not the hiding, but an (additional) navigation link.
    - - -
    A D'Appolito as center, for me it's horrible, but it's just so 'usual' (was). In part 2 (which I started with) it took me a while to discover that it was 3-way and that the comb filter effects then hardly come into play through 3-way. Somewhere I have a center with 2×20 cm and a 25mm dome, how can a reputable company build something like that, it's vertical for me, that's too extreme there too. I got hold of some adam artist 6H and probably want to convert them to 2 1/2 ways, despite vertical operation.
    - - -
    All in all, their clean elaboration in diagram and text is interesting, as well as the distortion on log scale. The sound pressure level specified more finely than just integers. — Where can you read what kind of premises do you measure in?
    Yes, thank you, also your contributions to diffraction... I'll compare that to 'The Ones' (genelec). At the Tonmeistertagung, directivity was referred to as a Christmas tree (little picture lying flat) with its tiered cone structure.
    - - -

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Blue Captcha Image
refresh

*

Monacor Direct HA-Edition mit SPH-176, MSH-116 und DT-25 Rundstrahlverhalten Sonogram

Entwicklungsbericht Monacor Direct HA-Edition Teil 2 Messtechnische Dokumentation zur Entwicklung des Centerlautsprechers Monacor Direct HA-Edition...

Entwicklungsbericht zum Center Monacor Direct HA-Edition

Monacor Direct HA-Edition Sonogram

Messungen der originalen Direct in Teil 1 des Entwicklungsberichts der Monacor Direct HA-Edition


So nun aber dire(c)(k)t ins Geschehen.

In der Regel stehen am Anfang einer jeden Lautsprecherentwicklung die Erstellung eines Konzepts, Treiberauswahl, Gehäuseabstimmung, Edgefimmelei usw. Das alles konnte (oder musste) ich mir sparen. Das Konzept war vorgegeben. Also wurden zunächst die Treiber im Gehäuse vermessen, um zu sehen wie Sie den letztendlich beschalltet werden wollen.


Im Folgenden die Messungen:

Amplitudenfrequenzgang Monacor DT-25N 0°, 30°, 60°, 90°

Monacor_DT25N_Winkel_0°_30°_60°_90°

 Monacor DT-25N harmonische Verzerrungen

Monacor DT25N Harmonische Verzerrungen

DT-25N „sieht“ die symmetrisch benachbarten TMTs, was sich am Einbruch (2kHz) und Aufbäumen (3kHz) unter 30° zeigt. Verrunden der Gehäusekannten brachte kaum Besserung. Womit zu lösendes Problem No. 1 vorgegeben war. Die Klirrwerte sind vollkommen im Rahmen. Die graue Linie steht für 1% Klirr (ebenso in den folgenden Diagrammen). Ab 2,5Khz bleibt K2 darunter, abgesehen vom kleinen Peak bei 10kHz. Diesen erachte ich als vollkommen harmlos. Es bedeutet in der Praxis, das zu einem 10kHz Ton ein 39 dB leiserer 20kHz Ton mitschwingt. Außerdem habe ich diesen „Peak“ nicht bei allen DT-25N gemessen. K3 ist ab 2kHz völlig zu vernachlässigen. Klirrkomponenten höherer Ordnung ebenso.


Amplitudenfrequenzgang Monacor MSH-116/4 0°, 30°, 60°, 90°

Monacor MSH116 Winkelmessungen 0°, 30°, 60°, 90°

Harmonische Verzerrungen Monacor MSH-116/4

Monacor MSH116 Harmonische Verzerrungen

Auch der MSH-116 sieht offensichtlich seine Nachbarn, reagiert aber nicht ganz so heftig wie die DT-25N. Ungünstig ist, dass sich sowohl DT-25N als auch MSH-116/4 um 2-4Khz unter Winkeln sehr ähnlich verhalten. Somit kann der Eine nicht ein „Fehlverhalten“ des Anderen kompensieren. Die harmonischen Verzerrungen sehen gut aus. Der zu tiefen Frequenzen hin ansteigende K2 empfiehlt eine Trennung >= 300Hz.


Amplitudenfrequenzgang Monacor SPH-176 0°, 30°, 60°, 90° (2 Treiber parallel)

Monacor_SPH176_Winkel_0°_30°_60°_90°

Harmonische Verzerrungen Monacor SPH-176 (2 Treiber parallel)

Monacor MSH116 Harmonische Verzerrungen

Dazu braucht nicht viel gesagt werden. Eine tiefe Trennung ist erforderlich, um den, der horizontal symmetrischen Anordnung geschuldeten, Einbrüchen entgegen zu wirken. Erfreulicher Effekt der Anordnung ist eine Richtwirkung der Tieftöner bis in den Bereich hinein, in dem Sie eigentlich als Rundstrahler arbeiten. Nach den Klirrwerten zu urteilen ist eine Trennung <= 400Hz anzustreben. Die Notwendigkeit dafür ist durch den Amplitudenfrequenzgang unter Winkeln sowieso gegeben.


Das waren nun die Vorgaben. Daraus einen sauber rund strahlenden Lautsprecher zu entwickeln die Aufgabe.

Die größte Schwierigkeit war es ein gesundes Mittelmaß aus linearem Frequenzgang auf Achse und gleichzeitig unter 15°-45° zu erreichen. Den Schwankungen der DT-25N und des MSH-116 zwischen 1kHz und 4kHz sind als gegeben zu betrachten. Die kann man nicht wegzaubern…Das Spiel mit Trennfrequenzen und Flankensteilheiten begann. Ich habe so ziemlich jede Trennung zwischen 2kHz und 4,5kHz mit Flankensteilheiten von 6dB/Okt bis 24dB/Okt simuliert, aufgebaut, vermessen und dann auch noch viele davon angehört. Manche länger, manche nur wenige Takte. Oft war ich der Meinung es sei nun gut, und am nächsten Tag wollte ich es dann doch noch einmal wissen.

Die letztendliche Abstimmung erfolgte unter 15°. Dies entspricht in etwa der Abhörposition von zwei Personen auf einer Couch in 2,5m Abstand zum Center-Lautsprecher, was eine wohl sehr häufig anzutreffende Konstellation ist.


Messungen des Centers Monacor Direct HA-Edition

Summe Zweige & gegenphasig 15°

Monacor Direct HA-Edition Frequenzgang Summe Zweige und verpolt
Summe Zweige & gegenphasig 15°

 

Die Trennfrequenzen liegen bei 360 und 3050Hz. Der Pegel fällt vom Grundton bis 20kHz gleichmäßig um ca. 2dB. Der mittlere Wirkungsgrad bei 2,83V beträgt 89,5dB. Das „Aufbäumen“ des MSH-116 um 10kHz ist unbedenklich, da 30dB unter dem Kennschalldruck. Die Flanken sind symmetrisch, die Addition sauber.

Bei verpoltem Mitteltöner Auslöschung von 15dB bei der Trennung TT/MT und 18dB MT/HT.


Amplitudenfrequenzgang auf Achse und Impedanzgang

Monacor Direct HA-Edition mit SPH-176, MSH-116 und DT-25 Amplitudengang Impedanzgang
Frequenzgang & Impedanzgang

 

Der harmlose Einbruch bei 1,2kHz war nicht wegzubekommen. Ich hatte etliche Varianten ohne Einbruch, Folge war immer ein sehr unruhiger Frequenzgang unter 15-45°. Die Linearität auf Achse ist mit +-2dB sehr gut. Die leichte Präsenzsenke verschwindet bereits unter 15°, ebenso die Welligkeit bei 1,2 und 1,8kHz. Der Höhenanstieg ab 8kHz kompensiert die Bündelung des Hochtöners. Auf Wunsch kann Dieser durch Parallelschaltung eines Cs zum Hochtöner sehr leicht linearisiert werden. Überhaupt kann der Lautsprecher aufgrund der vielen getesteten Varianten und eines sehr exakten Simulationsmodells auf Wunsch Euren Bedürfnissen angepasst werden. Das Impedanzminimum liegt mit 3,7Ohm bei 120Hz und stellt für keinen modernen Verstärker ein Problem dar.


Gruppenlaufzeit

Monacor Direct HA-Edition mit SPH-176, MSH-116 und DT-25 Gruppenlaufzeit
Gruppenlaufzeit

 

Welche Gruppenlaufzeiten nun hörbar sind oder nicht sorgt immer wieder für Diskussionen in diversen Foren. 2,9ms @ 80Hz entspricht weniger als 1/4 Wellenlänge (Das wären nach Adam Riese ca. 3,13ms). Die Verzögerung ist nicht wahrnehmbar und ein exzellenter Wert.


Phase

Monacor Direct HA-Edition mit SPH-176, MSH-116 und DT-25 Phase
Phase

 

Stetig fallend. Keine Probleme.


Ausschwingverhalten

Monacor Direct HA-Edition mit SPH-176, MSH-116 und DT-25 Ausschwingverhalten
Ausschwingverhalten Burst-Decay

 

Sehr schnelles und gleichmäßiges Ausschwingen über alle Frequenzen. Tadellos.


Horizontales Abstrahlverhalten (0-90° in 15° Schritten)

Monacor_Direct_HA_Winkel
Winkelmessungen 0-90°

 

Sehr gut zu sehen ist, warum der „Einbruch“ auf Achse bei 1,2kHz sein muss. Unter 30° und 45° wird diese „aufgefüllt“. Trotzdem auch unter 30° ein gleichmäßiger Verlauf mit leichtem Abfall zu den Höhen hin und einer Linearität von 200-10000Hz von +-2dB.

Isobarendiagramm des horizontalen Rundstrahlverhaltens

Monacor Direct HA-Edition mit SPH-176, MSH-116 und DT-25 Rundstrahlverhalten Sonogram
Rundstrahlverhalten Sonogram

 

Und es wurde ein meditierender Alien … wer hätte das gedacht. Das Diagramm enthält die gleichen Informationen, wie das darüber, die Amplitudenfrequenzgänge unter Winkeln. In diesem Fall allerdings in 5° Schritten und von 0-180°. Bitte die Skalierung beachten.


Harmonische Verzerrungen bei 85, 90 und 95dB

Monacor Direct HA-Edition Verzerrungen
Graue Linie: 1%
Bildwechsel alle 3 Sekunden

 

K3 bleibt bis 95dB immer >50dB unter dem Kennschalldruck => 0,3% werden nicht überschritten. Das ist ein äußerst guter Wert! Der gutmütige K2 ist ebenfalls völlig unbedenklich: 0,1% – 0,9% bei 95dB. Sehr gut!


Fazit:

Das war ein sehr intensives Stück Arbeit und ich bin ausgesprochen zufrieden mit dem Ergebnis. Ich höre den Lautsprecher, trotzdem er bei mir nur mono vorhanden ist, sehr gerne.

Der Lautsprecher Monacor Direct HA-Edition erfüllt sämtliche Anforderungen an einen sehr guten Center in pegelfesten Heimkinoinstallationen.

Viel mehr gibt es im Moment nicht zu sagen. Ich behalte mir vor den Artikel in Zukunft hier und da noch zu ergänzen/verbessern. Über Kommentare und auch Kritik Eurerseits würde ich mich freuen.


3 Gedanken zu „Entwicklungsbericht Monacor Direct HA-Edition Teil 2 Messtechnische Dokumentation zur Entwicklung des Centerlautsprechers Monacor Direct HA-Edition...

  1. Was lange währt wird gut! Ich bin schon gespannt aufs akustische Ergebnis 🙂
    Das Bild ganz oben sieht aus wie eine Statue die mich ansieht *ggg*

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Blue Captcha Image
Refresh

*