Diagonal chamfers ... effect, steepness and positioning

The topic of baffle geometry and its influence on the playback quality of loudspeakers has already been discussed in the article "About baffle design, edge diffraction, secondary sound sources, ...“Received in detail. If you still believe in the design of a baffle and the arrangement of the drivers on the same is primarily a question of optics, please read the article (again).

In the process of finding a suitable baffle, I often ended up with the variant "sloping bevels". The question arose again and again how steep these really have to be in order to be effective. So far I have relied on secondary knowledge in this regard ... read in books, forums, magazines. When the question came up again recently, I decided to investigate the matter with measurements.

To accomplish this, a baffle with adjustable, beveled chamfers had to be made. After a lot of headache, how to build this, I finally came to the following conclusion:

schraege_fase_variabelA V-groove was milled from behind, slightly less deep than the plate thickness, the whole thing "secured" from the front with adhesive tape and a 2mm thick copper wire stapled from above, which serves as an adjustment mechanism. The "wings" can be set anywhere from 0 ° -55 °.

baffle_xt25_back

For the tweeter, I chose one that by itself does not show any disturbances in the directional behavior in the area relevant for edge diffraction, which could falsify the results. The choice was much to the one I really appreciate XT25TG-30 / 04.

In 55 ° steps for chamfer angles of o-5 °, the respective radiation behavior of 0-90 ° in 10 ° steps was measured. Altogether 120 measurements.

The initial situation: Bevel angle 0 °

See also "Worst case" scenario

The left picture shows the radiation behavior in a sonogram normalized to 0 °. The right-hand example shows the angles 0, 30 and 60 °.

The sonogram shows that the loudspeaker is considerably too wide around 3kHz and radiates too narrow below that. Axis and angular frequency responses are unbalanced to one another. Where there is a depression on the axis, there is a superelevation at angles. The loudspeaker changes its character with the listening position. A steady and as evenly narrower course as possible would be desirable.

Measurement results

Sonogram for chamfers with a slope of 0-55 ° in 5 ° steps

fasen_deg_var

0,30 and 60 ° for bevel angles of 0-50 ° in 10 ° steps

winkel_fasen_deg_var

The main disturbance (expansion by 3kHz associated with the constriction below) decreases with a larger bevel angle. Chamfers with a slope of <20 ° do not yet produce satisfactory results.

The chamfers themselves form a new edge, which comes to bear with increasing steepness. Recognizable by the arising expansion around 5Khz. This is less pronounced because the tweeter in this area is no longer working as a half-space radiator.

In addition to resolving the "rectangular geometry", this is one of the main tasks of the inclined bevel: bringing the housing edges so close to the tweeter that it no longer "sees" you or only weakly. Shorter distance ⇒ shorter wavelength higher frequency ⇒ more directivity ⇒ less influence of the edge

The “inclined bevel” concept works particularly well when the tweeter is already clearly bundling in the corresponding frequency band and thus it is practically no longer “seen” at all. Of the Seas DXT 27TBCD / GB be mentioned here by way of example. How well this driver works with oblique chamfers is an example DXT-Mon to see.

In summary:

  • Chamfers <20 ° are not sufficiently effective
  • The distance of the chamfers to the place of sound creation must be sufficiently low, otherwise one reaches only one, at least partial, displacement of the problem
  • Depending on the situation, the chamfers can also zu steep be!

The concept of the bevel chamfers doesn't really work around the problem to get over. But not unconditionally. The slope and position must be chosen carefully and according to the concept. If you were to ask me for a universal recommendation, I would say:

"Make the bevels 25-35 ° steep and position them as close to the tweeter as possible"


Finally, the measurements in single images, for those who want to take a closer look. The steepness of the chamfer is in the lower left corner of the picture.

Note: The picture change is also possible with the mouse wheel

 

 

 

 

 

 

CNC adapter plate for various Scan-Speak and Peerless tweeters on WG-300 and PCT-300

There are some tweeters from Scan-Speak and Tymphany, all of which share the same front panel. One or the other of them also measures itself excellently on the P-Audio (PCT-300), or Monacor (WG-300) waveguide.

In order to connect the drivers cleanly with the sound guide, an adapter plate milled in CNC was created after many test series, which allows simple and very precise installation.

The following tweeters are suitable for the conversion

3D printed adapter plate in the shop

Construction of the adapter plate with "home remedies"

With a jigsaw, cordless screwdriver, router and the following step-by-step instructions, building the adapter plate yourself should not cause any problems. It doesn't even have to be measured 🙂 Let's go ...

  • Print out the PDF (included in the respective building folder) using Acrobat Reader (choose the “actual size” option!)
  • Size check: Outer diameter 120mm
  • Glue on a 9mm thick piece of MPX / MDF / screen printing plate (spray glue / glue stick ...)
  • Drilling the holes => upright drilling machine is an advantage!
  • With the circular milling device (each speaker should have one) 3mm deep to appropriate mark milling (D67mm)
  • Use the jigsaw to saw the inner hole and saw off the plate in the last step

From the practice with the "home remedy method" another additional tip from Thorsten (www.felbi.at)

If you glue your artwork directly onto the substrate (eg MPX), you will have the difficulty to get it down again later. For visual reasons, that bothered me and came up with the following idea: Before you glue your artwork on the MPX, just past the MPX with tape. Now the artwork will be cut to the size of the MPX board. Spray glue is then sprayed onto the package tape and allowed to dry for about 5 minutes (Note the spray adhesive is not on the paper spray!). Now the print template can be glued on.

Once all drilling and milling work has been completed, the package strap can easily be pulled down again from the MPX board.


Assembly

First, the front panel of the tweeter must be removed. On some models, this is easily fixed with a silicone-like adhesive. In this case, use a large slotted screwdriver to "pry" it up discreetly as shown in the following picture. Work slowly and evenly. The screws on the front panel should of course have been loosened beforehand (TX10).

Dressing the waveguide neck

The adapter plate is placed on the sound guide and the neck is ground flat with circular movements (⇒ dust mask).

Finally, two recordings of the Scan-Speak D2604 / 833000 or 830000 & the Peerless XT25TG30-04 with waveguide

Disclaimer

You do the conversion on your own responsibility! I accept no liability. Possibly. you lose your warranty claims during the conversion.

I made a lot of changes and nothing ever happened. I think the instructions are pretty "foolproof" 🙂

The plans of the adapter plate are the intellectual property of Heissmann-Acoustics.de, Alexander Heißmann. Any transfer requires my express consent.

... you can get a coffee from 1 € 😉

Test Peerless / Tymphany XT25TG-30 / 04 (XT-300 / K4) at the waveguide WG-300 / PCT-300 4 Ω ring emitter with waveguide

Datasheet © www.heissmann-acoustics.de
Measurements in 20x40cm baffle, 10mm rounded, in 70cm distance at 2,83V. Level scaled to 1m.

The Waveguide was milled with a CNC adapter plate  mounted on the tweeter.

XT25TG30_04_WG

XT25TG-30 / 04 Sound pressure at angles

Vifa XT-300 (XT25TG-30 / 04) WG300 Sound pressure at angles

System-related exaggeration in the frequency band of 1-7 kHz. Due to its symmetry, this can be easily equalized with the crossover. It is the purpose of a sound guide to act as an acoustic amplifier. The Vifa XT-300 (XT25TG-30/04) is an excellent match for the waveguide. Extremely even bundling without any disturbances worth mentioning. Due to the large dome (30mm voice coil), a slightly stronger directivity from 8kHz. Recommendation: plan a slight increase> 8kHz in the high frequency on axis.

XT25TG-30 / 04 Sound pressure standardized at angles to 0 °

Vifa XT-300 (XT25TG-30 / 04) WG300 Sound pressure normalized at angles

Vifa XT-300 (XT25TG-30 / 04) WG300 Sound pressure normalized at angles

Here, the frequency response was linearized on axis. The 2. Picture (sonogram) clearly shows the excellent uniform straightening behavior of the combination of XT-300 and the waveguide.

XT25TG-30 / 04 decay behavior

Vifa XT-300 at Waveguide WG-300 decay behavior

Minimal delayed decay by 2kHz. Otherwise perfectly.

XT25TG-30 / 04 harmonic distortions

Vifa XT-300 at the waveguide WG-300 harmonic distortion

As expected, the distortion decreases compared to the variant without waveguide. The XT-300 already showed very good distortion even without waveguide, but with a significant increase of K2 under 3kHz. With Waveguide the effect is also present but attenuated by about 5dB. In sum, very low distortion. Even with 100dB, everything from 2kHz remains below 1%. K3 moves at the measurable limit.

Rating


Frequency response / directional behavior:4.5 5 out of stars
Range:5 5 out of stars
Power handling:5 5 out of stars
Constance / Without Rating /:0 5 out of stars
Haptics:4 5 out of stars
Price-performance:5 5 out of stars

Summary


The Peerless XT25TG-30/04 and the Waveguide WG-300 are a very attractive combination for extremely level-stable installations, for example in the home theater. Can be used from 1,5 kHz. I think I'll test it out in Cinetor.

Schräge Fasen ...Wirkweise, Steilheit & Positionierung

Auf das Thema Schallwandgeometrie, und deren Einfluss auf die Wiedergabequalität von Lautsprechern, wurde bereits im Artikel  „Über Schallwandgestaltung, Kantendiffraktion, Sekundärschallquellen, …“  ausführlich eingegangen. Wer nach wie vor im Glauben ist die Gestaltung einer Schallwand und die Anordnung der Treiber auf Selbiger sei in erster Linie eine Frage der Optik, möge den Artikel gerne (nochmal) lesen.

Im Findungsprozess einer geeigneten Schallwand bin ich des öfteren bei der Variante „Schräge Fasen“ gelandet. Dabei stellte sich immer wieder die Frage, wie steil diese wirklich sein müssen um effektiv zu wirken. Bisher berief ich mich diesbezüglich auf Sekundärwissen … Gelesenes in Büchern, Foren, Magazinen. Als kürzlich die Frage erneut aufkam, beschloss ich der Sache messtechnisch auf den Zahn zu fühlen.

Um dies zu bewerkstelligen musste eine Schallwand mit einstellbaren, schrägen Fasen her. Nach reichlich Kopfzerbrechen, wie Diese zu bauen sei, kam ich letztendlich zu folgendem Ergebnis:

schraege_fase_variabelEs wurde von hinten eine V-Nut gefräst, knapp weniger tief als Plattenstärke, das Ganze mit Klebeband von vorne „gesichert“ und ein 2mm starker Kupferdraht von oben festgetackert, was als Einstellmechanismus dient. Die „Flügel“ können von 0°-55° beliebig eingestellt werden.

baffle_xt25_back

Als Hochtöner wählte ich Einen der von sich aus keine Störungen im Richtverhalten,  im für Kantendiffraktion relevanten Bereich zeigt, welche die Ergebnisse verfälschen könnten. Die Wahl viel auf den von mir sehr geschätzten XT25TG-30/04.

Es wurden für Fasenwinkel von o-55°, in 5° Schritten, das jeweilige Abstrahlverhalten von 0-90° in 10° Schritten gemessen. Summa summarum 120 Messungen.

Die Ausgangssituation: Fasenwinkel 0°

Siehe auch „Worst Case“ Szenario

Im linken Bild wird das Abstrahlverhalten in einem auf 0° normierten Sonogramm dargestellt. Das Rechte zeigt exemplarisch die Winkel 0, 30 und 60°.

Im Sonogramm ist zu erkennen, dass der Lautsprecher um 3kHz erheblich zu breit, und darunter zu eng abstrahlt.  Achs,- und Winkelfrequenzgänge sind zueinander unausgewogen. Wo auf Achse Eine Senke ist, gibt es unter Winkeln eine Überhöhung. Der Lautsprecher ändert seinen Charakter mit der Abhörposition. Erstrebenswert wäre eine stetig und möglichst gleichmäßig enger werdender Verlauf.

Messergebnisse

Sonogramm für Fasen mit einer Steilheit von 0-55° in 5° Schritten

fasen_deg_var

0,30 und 60° für Fasenwinkel von 0-50° in 10° Schritten

winkel_fasen_deg_var

Die Hauptstörung (Aufweitung um 3kHz einhergehend mit der Einschnürung darunter) nimmt mit größerem Fasenwinkel ab. Fasen mit einer Steilheit < 20° bringen noch keine befriedigenden Ergebnisse.

Die Fasen selbst bilden eine neue Kante, die mit zunehmender Steilheit zu tragen kommt. Zu erkennen an der entstehenden Aufweitung um 5Khz. Diese ist weniger ausgeprägt, da der Hochtöner in diesem Bereich bereits nicht mehr als Halbraumstrahler arbeitet.

Das ist auch, neben der Auflösung der „Rechteckgeometrie“ eine der Hauptaufgaben der schrägen Fase: Die Gehäusekanten so nahe an den Hochtöner zu bringen, dass er Sie nicht mehr, bzw. nur abgeschwächt „sieht“. Geringerer Abstand ⇒ Kleinere Wellenlänge höhere Frequenz ⇒ mehr Richtwirkung ⇒ weniger Einfluss der Kante

Besonders gut funktioniert das Konzept „schräge Fase“ dann, wenn der Hochtöner im entsprechenden Frequenzband bereits deutlich bündelt und somit Diese praktisch gar nicht mehr „gesehen“ wird. Der Seas DXT 27TBCD/GB sei hier beispielhaft erwähnt. Wie gut dieser Treiber mit schrägen Fasen funktioniert ist am Beispiel DXT-Mon zu sehen.

Zusammengefasst:

  • Fasen <20° sind nicht ausreichend wirksam
  • Die Entfernung der Fasen zum Schallentstehungsort muss ausreichend gering sein, ansonsten erreicht man nur eine, zumindest teilweise, Verschiebung des Problems
  • Je nach Situation können die Fasen auch zu steil sein!

Das Konzept der Schrägen Fasen ist ein sehr effektives um der Problematik <Sekundärschallquellen durch Kantendiffraktion> beizukommen. Dies aber nicht Bedingungslos. Steilheit und Position müssen mit Bedacht und dem Konzept entsprechend gewählt werden. Würde man mich nach einer Universalempfehlung fragen würde ich sagen:

„Mach die Fasen 25-30° steil und positioniere Sie so nahe an den Hochtöner wie nur möglich“


Abschließend noch die Messungen in Einzelbildern, für diejenigen die es sich ein wenig genauer ansehen wollen. Die Steilheit der Fase steht jeweils links unten im Bild.

Hinweis: Der Bildwechsel ist auch mit dem Mausrad möglich

 

 

 

 

 

 

Adapterplatte für verschiedene Scan-Speak und Peerless Hochtöner an WG-300 und PCT-300

Aus dem Häusern Scan-Speak und Tymphany gibt es einige Hochtöner, die allesamt die gleiche Frontplatte teilen. Der Eine oder Andere davon misst sich auch noch hervorragend am P-Audio (PCT-300),- bzw. Monacor (WG-300) Waveguide. Um die Treiber sauber mit der Schallführung zu verbinden entstand nach vielen Testreihen eine in CNC gefräste Adapterplatte, die eine einfache und sehr passgenaue Montage erlaubt.

Folgende Hochtöner sind für den Umbau geeignet

Die jeweils zu erst genannten wurden von mir umgebaut und mit sehr guten, teils herausragenden Ergebnissen, vermessen. Die folgenden teilen allesamt die gleiche Frontplatte und sind, zumindest extrem bauähnlich mit einem der gemessenen Treiber….und es gibt noch ein paar weitere potentielle Kandidaten.

Bau der Adapterplatte mit „Hausmitteln“

Die wenigsten unter uns sind Besitz einer CNC-Fräse. Um eine so einfache Konstruktion wie diese Adapterplatte zu bauen bedarf es auch Keiner! Mit Stichsäge, Akkuschrauber, Oberfräse und folgender Schritt-für-Schritt Anleitung sollte der Bau der Adapterplatte keine Probleme machen. Es muss noch nicht mal gemessen werden 🙂 Los geht das …

  • PDF herunterladen (klick auf das Bild)

Adapter_XD270_WG_Druck

  • Mit dem Acrobat-Reader ausdrucken (Option „tatsächliche Größe“ wählen!)
  • Größencheck: Außendurchmesser 116mm
  • Auf ein 9mm starkes Stück MPX/MDF/Siebdruckplatte kleben (Sprühkleber/Klebstift…)
  • Die Löcher Bohren (8mm und 3mm Bohrer)
  • Mit der Zirkelfräsvorrichtung (Jeder Lautsprecherbauer sollte eine haben) 3mm tief bis entsprechender Markierung Fräsen (D67mm)
  • Mit der Stichsäge das innere Loch sägen und imletzten Arbeitsschritt die Platte aussägen

So sollte die Adapterplatte dann aussehen

Adapter__WG

Montage

Zunächst muss die Frontplatte des Hochtöners entfernt werden. Bei einigen Modellen ist diese mit einem Silikon ähnlichen Kleber fixiert. In diesem Fall mit einem großen Schlitzschraubendreher wie in folgendem Bild gezeigt „anhebeln“. Langsam und gleichmäßig arbeiten. Der Ansetzpunkt ist wichtig. Abgesehen davon kann nicht wirklich was schief gehen. Vorab sollten allerdings die Schrauben der Frontplatte gelöst worden sein (TX10).

Abrichten des Waveguide Halses

Die Adapterplatte wird auf die Schallführung gesteckt und der Hals mit kreisenden Bewegungen plan geschliffen (⇒Staubschutzmaske).

 

In folgendem Video wird die finale Montage gezeigt

Im Gegensatz zur Angabe im Video werden keine M3x16mm, sondern M3x12mm Schrauben verwendet! Die M4x10mm dürfen gerne auch, müssen aber nicht, länger ausfallen.

Zum Abschluss noch zwei Aufnahmen des Scan-Speak D2604/833000 bzw. 830000 & des Peerless XT25TG30-04 mit Waveguide

Disclaimer

Ihr macht den Umbau in eigener Verantwortung! Ich übernehme keinerlei Haftung. Ggf. verliert Ihr beim Umbau Eure Garantieansprüche. Das ist allerdings nicht an mir zu beurteilen.

Ich habe viele Umbauten vorgenommen und es ist nie etwas passiert. Ich denke die Anleitung ist ziemlich „Narrensicher“ 🙂

…´nen Kaffee gibts so ab 1€ 😉

Test Peerless / Tymphany XT25TG-30/04 (XT-300/K4) am Waveguide WG-300 / PCT-300 4 Ω Ringstrahler mit Waveguide

Datenblatt © www.heissmann-acoustics.de
Messungen in 20x40cm Schallwand, 10mm verrundet, in 70cm Entfernung bei 2,83V. Pegel auf 1m skaliert.

Das Waveguide wurde mit einer in CNC gefrästen Adapterplatte  an den Hochtöner montiert.

XT25TG30_04_WG

XT25TG-30/04 Schalldruck unter Winkeln

Vifa XT-300 (XT25TG-30/04) WG300 Schalldruck unter Winkeln

Systembedingte Überhöhung im Frequenzband von 1-7kHz. Diese lässt sich aufgrund ihrer Symmetrie sehr leicht mit der Frequenzweiche egalisieren. Es ist Sinn und Zweck einer Schallführung als akkustischer Verstärker zu wirken. Dadurch wird eine gleichmäßigere Bündelung und höhere Belastbarkeit erreicht.Der Vifa XT-300 (XT25TG-30/04) passt hervorragend zum Waveguide. Äußerst gleichmäßige Bündelung ohne nennenwerte Störungen. Aufgrund der großen Kalotte (30mm Schwingspule) etwas stärkere Richtwirkung ab 8kHz.Empfehlung: Auf Achse einen leichten Anstieg > 8kHz im Hochton einplanen.

XT25TG-30/04 Schalldruck unter Winkeln auf 0° normiert

Vifa XT-300 (XT25TG-30/04) WG300 Schalldruck unter Winkeln normiert

Vifa XT-300 (XT25TG-30/04) WG300 Schalldruck unter Winkeln normiert

Hier wurde der Frequenzgang auf Achse linearisiert. Das 2. Bild (Sonogram) zeigt deutlich das hervorragend gleichmäßige Richtverhalten der Kombination aus XT-300 und dem Waveguide.

XT25TG-30/04 Ausschwingverhalten

Vifa XT-300 am Waveguide WG-300 Ausschwingverhalten

Minimal verzögertes Ausschwingen um 2kHz. Ansonsten tadellos.

XT25TG-30/04 harmonische Verzerrungen

Vifa XT-300 am Waveguide WG-300 harmonische Verzerrungen

Wie erwartet sinkt der Klirr im Vergleich zur Variante ohne Waveguide. Die XT-300 zeigte auch ohne Waveguide bereits sehr gute Klirrwerte, mit aber einem deutlichen Anstieg von K2 unter 3kHz. Mit Waveguide ist der Effekt auch vorhanden aber um ca. 5dB abgeschwächt. In der Summe ausgesprochen niedrige Verzerrungen. Selbst bei 100dB bleibt alles ab 2kHz unter 1%. K3 bewegt sich an der Messbarkeitsgrenze.

Wertung


Frequenzgang/Richtverhalten:4.5 Stars
Einsatzbereich:5 Stars
Pegelfestigkeit:5 Stars
Konstanz /Ohne Wertung/:0 Stars
Anfassqualität:4 Stars
Preis/Leistung:5 Stars

Fazit


Der Peerless XT25TG-30/04 und das Waveguide WG-300 sind eine höchst reizvolle Kombination für äußerst pegelfeste Installationen zB im Heimkino. Einsetzbar bereits ab 1,5kHz. Ich denke ich werde das mal in Cinetor antesten.